Breaking News

Breaking News English needs Part Time campus Reporters.Please
Prof. Tariq Mansoor is presently serving as the Vice-Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh. Previously he has also served as Principal, J.N. Medical College, Chief Medical Superintendent, J.N. Medical College Hospital and Chairman, Department of Surgery. He is also the member of Medical Council of India since March 2015 for a period of four years. He is product of the first batch of prestigious Our Lady of Fatima Higher Secondary School, Aligarh. During his school days he has served as House Captain as well as School Captain. He did his MBBS and MS in General Surgery from Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, AMU, Aligarh. A surgeon by profession with special interest in Breast and Thyroid Diseases, Prof. Tariq Mansoor has 33 years of Teaching and 35 years of Clinical experience. He has 90 publications to his credit and has guided 49 Postgraduate Medical Students for their Thesis as Supervisor / Co-Supervisor

AMU Court recommends panel of three names for new Vice Chancellor

AMU Court recommends panel of three names for new Vice Chancellor 

Aligarh, February 4: A special meeting of the AMU Court, the supreme governing body of the Aligarh Muslim University, today recommended a panel of three names to the President of India, in his capacity as Visitor of the University, for the appointment of the next Vice Chancellor.
The meeting of the Court recommended Professor Tariq Mansoor, Principal and CMS, Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College and Hospital; Dr Abusaleh Shariff, Executive Director and Chief Scholar, US-India Policy Institute, Washington and Dr Shahid Jameel, CEO, Welcome Trust and DBT India Alliance.
The meeting was presided over by the Pro Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University, Nawab Ibne Saeed Khan of Chattari and Mr Naseem Ahmad, former AMU Vice Chancellor was the Chief Election Officer to conduct the election.
Prof Tariq Mansoor secured 94 votes, Dr Abusaleh Shariff secured 90 votes and Dr Shahid Jameel secured 86 votes while Prof Javaid Akhter, AMU Registrar secured 84 votes and Prof Mazahir Kidwai, Vice Chancellor of IIMT University, Meerut secured 36 votes. A total of 130 votes were polled by AMU Court Members.
Earlier, the Executive Council of the University drew a panel of five names to the University Court.
Meanwhile, AMU Vice Chancellor, Lt Gen. Zameer Uddin Shah (Veteran) expressed satisfaction on the smooth conduct of the election. He added that it is hoped that the new Vice Chancellor will work for the betterment and progress of the University. 
Pro Vice Chancellor, Brig S Ahmad Ali (Veteran); Prof Habibur Rehman, AMU Treasurer; Dr Mahmood-Ur-Rahman, former AMU Vice Chancellor; Prof P K Abdul Aziz, former AMU Vice Chancellor; Dr Abhijit Mukherjee, Member of Parliament; Dr Ashok Seth, noted cardiologist and AMU alumnus; Mr K C Tyagi, Member of Parliament; Dr Syed Farooq Ahmad; Dr Syed Zafar Mahmood; Mr Satish Kumar Gautam, Member of Parliament; Mr Chaudhary Mehboob Ali Qaiser, Member of Parliament; Mr Mohd Badruddoza Khan, Member of Parliament; Mr E T Mohd Basheer, Member of Parliament; Mr Mohd Asrarul Haq Qasmi, Member of Parliament; Dr Mohsin Wali; Mrs Sayeda Saiyidin Hameed; Mr Siraj Qureshi; Dr Nadeem Tarin, noted entrepreneur; Mr Zafar Iqbal, Former India Hockey Captain; Maulana Kalbe Sadiq and Mr S M Khan, Press Registrar, Government of India, along with other members, were present at the meeting.
Prof Asfar Ali Khan, Officiating Registrar, AMU proposed the vote of thanks. 

News Desk

No comments:

Post a Comment